Playing the old LucasArts Adventures under Linux

What this is all about
This article explains how to install and play your old LucasArts adventures under Linux. The games I‘m talking about here are those adventures that are based on the SCUMM engine by LucasArts and include the following titles:

  • Indiana Jones I
  • Indiana Jones II
  • Maniac Mansion I
  • Maniac Mansion II: Day of the Tentacle
  • Sam and Max Hit the Road
  • Loom
  • Zak McKracken
  • Monkey Island I
  • Monkey Island II

We‘ll be using the scummvm interpreter to play these games. You will need the original games to play the titles mentioned above since they are still copyrighted. You can also play the following free titles with scummvm without any game media:

  • Flight of the Amazon Queen
  • Beneath a Steel Sky

Installing scummvm
You can install scummvm from the scummvm website but the recommended and easy way under Debian Etch is to simply use the version in the package repository. :)

# apt-get install scummvm

That’s it. You should now have a link to scummvm in your start menu. Type scummvm to start it if you don‘t.

Installing the games
Ok, now that we‘ve got the engine, what about some games? Under Debian Etch, let’s grab the free games that are in the repository first:

# apt-get install beneath-a-steel-sky flight-of-the-amazon-queen

Now copy any other games you own to your harddisk, I tend to copy them to ~/software/. You can also place .iso files there if you have the CDROM editions of Sam and Max or other games that were released on CDROM. Just create an ISO image of the CD (CD burning applications like k3b and simple tools like ddcan do that) and copy it there.

Now start up scummvm and add the game via the graphical menu (just navigate to the directory and click Add), then select it and click Start to play it.

Hint: Press F5 while playing to save (and load) your game in scummvm.